How to turn off Google’s location tracking completely

How to turn off Google’s location tracking completely

 

Huge tech companies are under increasing scandals regarding their privacy terms and data practices since last year. Last year, the business news site Quartz found that Google was tracking Android users by collecting the addresses of nearby cellphone towers even if all location services were off. And Google changed the practice and insisted it never recorded the data anyway.

However, a recent report from the Associated Press uncovered a new truth. The report highlighted that even you turned off location history, some Google apps automatically store your time-stamped location data without asking.

The privacy issue affects some two billion users of devices that run Google’s Android operating software and hundreds of millions of worldwide iPhone users who rely on Google for maps or search.

So are you still insist on your principle “Don’t be evil” now, Google?

It is totally clear that we should take our own steps to protect our own privacy.
Turning off location history won’t hide where you are when you use search, maps or weather. Here’s how to stop being tracked.

For Android devices:

  • Head to settings;
  •  Tap on Google then Google Account;
  • Tap on the data & personalization and then on Web & App Activity;
  • Toggle Web & App Activity OFF.

 

To turn off location history:

  • Head to settings;
  • Tap on Google then Google Account;
  • Tap on the data & personalization;
  • Tap on location history and toggle the setting OFF for each phone or device connected to your Google account.

 

For iPhones, iPads, and computers with google apps:

  • Click here to the controls page (you may have to sign into your Google account to access the page);
  • Toggle the Web & App Activity setting OFF;
  • The toggle for location history is directly below the Web & App Activity setting, which you can also toggle OFF.

 

To delete all your location data:

  • To review and delete all of your recorded activity, including location data, Google’s My Activity panel allows you to delete individual and group events.
  • You can also delete your location history in your Google Maps timeline by clicking on the bin icon.

 

 

Give your suggestions to be better service !